Cafe One24

26 01 2012

I think it’s safe to say that great restaurants in the burbs are hard to come by, as most of them are chains with high calorie options.  When Cafe One24 opened up in Brookfield, it was not only intriguing being new, but everything about its clean eating philosophy seemed to good to be true…even one of a kind.  Located in between a Chipolte and a Culver’s (on 124th and capital), Cafe One24 wasn’t very busy on a Tuesday evening.  I met a few friends with wide smiles ready to dive into a new menu.  The wine list was decent, nothing very high-end, in fact many of the options you can actually get at Thief Wine in their $10 and under table (although no qualms there).  After splitting a lovely crostini trio of smoked chicken, wild mushroom, and fresh tomato and basil, in addition to our cafe salad, I was pleasantly surprised.  It was when it came to the main dish of the evening, when I became disappointed.  My friend and I decided to split the flank steak, after over indulging in appetizers.  An herb crusted, grass fed flank steak, with braised rainbow chard, and sautéed wild mushroom sounds amazing, right.  Well, to our dismay it was over cooked and quite tasteless.  I keep thinking maybe this is completely my fault for ordering steak at a new, shi-shi organic place, but if you’re new and trying to make it, everything on that menu should be delightful and cooked to taste.  I’m not saying, don’t try it, but the “experience rich in taste,” on their website wasn’t quite a truism in our case.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment