Braise

27 06 2012

Much like the beginnings of a new relationship…fresh, spontaneous, and delicious, Braise certainly hits a home run with the whole experience of it all.  Putting out the most interesting wine list in Milwaukee (please try a glass of  Barbera) and a spirits list that doesn’t include Maker’s Mark, but Four Roses bourbon, certainly started the evening off with a bang.  Moving into the busy dining room on a Tuesday night, I was impressed with the sharp staff, the community style seating, and the smell that was coming from the open kitchen.  Sitting at a counter looking directly into the kitchen (the best seat in the house), I was quickly greeted with an introduction to the farm-to-table mission of the restaurant and appraised of the fact that the menu changes DAILY, according to the food that was delivered from a Wisconsin-only-farm.  After ordering several appetizers that included fresh fennel and the best tomato soup I’ve ever experienced (served with cilantro cream), I didn’t want this incredible culinary experience to stop, so I ordered a home-made potato gnocchi dish with zucchini and mushrooms.  This dish quickly reminded me of my Russian, great-grandmother’s vareniki (a pierogi to some), with a seared potato dumpling after it has been boiled.  I know it sounds simple, but this extra crunchy layer of flavor is as “secret ingredient” as they come!  After dinner, Chef David Swanson greeted us and spoke with us for a significant amount of time, capping an unforgettable evening with integrity.  Thank you, Braise.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment