Cioppino

11 06 2012

I took advantage of a recipe last night that was recently published in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, with some great results.  The recipe was published as a request from a Third Ward Caffe patron wanting to recreate the caffe’s to-die-for, Friday and Saturday night cioppino.  Let me tell you, if the in-house method is even half as good as my dutch oven’s skills, you must head straight down to the Third Ward neighborhood and try some for yourself.  Of course this fresh fish dish got me thinking about great meals again, and where else a great cioppino may be in store for you.  My taste bud memory quickly brought me back to Roots Restaurant and Cellar, in this case for their elegant San Francisco Cioppino.  Their version is even served in a personal cast iron skillet with a delicate fennel, tomato broth.  Next, I would move onto one of Milwaukee’s best views of the lake at the Harbor House.  As garlicky as the winter days are long, this version is simply complex.

Try all three, (or at least give the recipe a try at home)!

.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment